Articles in this section

User Rights: Client & Project Access

For every security group you create in BigTime, you’ll have the ability to add or remove certain user rights that control what members of that security group can do. To edit or add security group user rights, first go to MY COMPANY…USER RIGHTS from your main navigation bar. Then, either create a new security group or click on a pre-existing security group. You’ll see a list of all the user right categories, which you can click on to expand and see each individual user right grouped within that category. One of these categories is labeled CLIENT & PROJECT ACCESS. In this article, we’ll define each user right in this category, and explain what aspects of the BigTime user experience they each control.

View/Manage Any Project

This user right grants BigTime users permission to view and edit the information about any project in the system, regardless of the project teams they've been added to. Without this permission, users will need to be added to a project's team to view or make any edits to that project. This user right also to an extent controls a user's experience with reports. There are certain reports you can make in BigTime that include project details and are governed by project rights. With this user permission, a user will be able to view all of those reports without any restrictions.

Allow User To Add Projects

By default, your staffers won’t be able to add new projects to your firm’s BigTime system. If you want a given staffer to be able to add new projects to BigTime, turn this user right on.

Allow User To Delete Projects

You can grant this permission to users if you’d like them to be able to delete projects from your system. Keep in mind that deleting a project is a permanent action. If you’d like to remove a project from your account, but don’t want to lose all the data associated with it, you also have the option to deactivate that project. The ability to deactivate a project is governed by the package you purchased for your firm. To learn more about BigTime’s pricing packages, read this article.

View Project List Menu

This permission lets users view your firm's entire list of projects in BigTime. When you have this user right turned off for a security group, its members won't see the PROJECT LIST option listed under the MY COMPANY tab of your main navigation toolbar. 

View Billing Rates On Projects You Manage

If you decide to use invoicing for your firm, you can grant certain users the ability to view billing rate data within the project detail screen by turning this permission on. You’ll need to make sure that users with this right also have management rights over their projects.

Edit Billing Rates/Contract Details

The previous user right lets users view billing rates, but those users won’t be able to make edits to those billing rates unless they have this additional user right turned on. This user right grants permission to edit billing rate data associated with projects. 

Add/Edit Team Members

Usually, System Admins will be the only users who can add new team members or make edits to information about their staffers. However, you can activate this user right to grant members of any security group the ability to add team members or edit their information.

Edit Client/Contact Data

Similar to the user right above, this user right let's staffers add new clients to their firm’s BigTime system or edit info about those clients. Data about clients within a project’s details will be read-only unless staffers are given this permission. Staffers that can add or edit invoice data will need this additional permission if they want to make edits to an invoice's billing address, since that counts as client data.

Allow User To Delete Contacts/Clients

This user right allows users to delete project contacts or clients. Keep in mind that deleting a contact or client is a permanent action and cannot be undone.

View Project Vitals

When you open a project in your PROJECT LIST, you’ll see a row of tabs that organize all your project data into different categories. The first of these tabs is labeled VITALS, and under that tab you’ll see a number of data tiles that convey a high-level view of your project’s progress and overall health.

This window displays high-level data about your project’s overall budget, allocations, task progress and other information. You might only want staffers at the admin or management level to have access to this page. In that case, you would turn this user right on for their respective security groups. If you want to hide the VITALS screen from your other staffers, leave this user right turned off.

Hide Project Financials

In addition to the VITALS tab, every project in your Project List has a tab labeled FINANCIALS. Under this tab, you’ll see all the dollar amounts of your project’s time and expenses. You can view this data by various time periods: weekly, monthly, quarterly and yearly. 

This info is sensitive, and you may want to keep it confidential and only let your finance teams see it. In that case, you can turn this user right on for their security groups.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

More Resources