For every security group you create in BigTime, you’ll have the ability to add or remove certain user rights that control what members of that security group can do. To edit or add security group user rights, first go to MY COMPANY…USER RIGHTS from your main navigation bar. Then, either create a new security group or click on a pre-existing security group. You’ll see a list of all the user right categories, which you can click on to expand and see each individual user right grouped within that category. One of these categories is labeled GENERAL FIRM SETTINGS & CONFIGURATION. In this article, we’ll define each user right in this category, and explain what aspects of the BigTime user experience they each control.
Edit Firm Settings
This user right grants members of a security group the ability to access your firm's settings menu, and allows them to make changes to your firm's BigTime settings. When you turn this user right on, members of your security group will be able to edit the name of your firm, your phone number, and your address, among other details.
Edit User Rights/Security Settings
By default, your staffers won't be able to make edits to your firm's security settings. But if you turn this user right on, they'll be able to edit the user rights associated with your security groups, including the group they've been assigned to. Keep in mind that turning this user right on alone may not give a staffer full access to your firm's settings, and you'll need to turn the "Edit Firm Settings" right and/or the "View/Manage Any Staff Member" right (located under the “Staff Access” section) on in order to grant them full access.
Customize BigTime’s Screens/Views
The screens you see in BigTime are not always static, and can be edited to meet your firm's particular needs. In order to give a security group this ability, you'll need to turn this user right on. When it's turned on, members of that security group will see buttons labeled CUSTOMIZE throughout BigTime's screens. The one screen this user right doesn't cover is the Report Center, which is controlled by a different user right.
View Home Dashboard
The Home Dashboard is a screen with multiple tiles and graphs that give you a sense of your firm's overall performance in areas like task allocation, invoicing, and staff utilization. You may want only your managers or system admins to be able to view this data, since it displays the health of your firm at a high level. Turning this user right on or off will control whether members of your security group can access the Home Dashboard.